How to programmatically remove the “Configure CRM” toolbar from non-CRM users

Lately I have been messing a bit more with Microsoft Dynamics CRM 4.0 and ran into something which can be especially bothersome for non-CRM users on a shared computer or in Citrix / Terminal Server environments.

When the Microsoft Dynamics CRM 4.0 Client for Outlook is installed on a computer or in a Citrix / Terminal Server environment it will show the button “Configure Microsoft Dynamics CRM for Outlook” for all users in Outlook.

In my opinion, this button should “technically” be only visable for CRM users and not for everybody. So, if you have computers or a Citrix / Terminal Server environment that is used by CRM users and non-CRM users how would you solve this? One would think that simply removing the button from the toolbar is the solution. Well, that doesn’t work for whatever reason, the button returns each time when you close and re-open Outlook.

So now what? Looking through the registry, I noticed a few reg keys that might help. After some testing I noticed it gave the needed results.
Set the following registry keys to disable the Microsoft Dynamics CRM Outlook add-in.

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\Outlook\Addins\crmaddin.Addin\LoadBehavior DWORD 2

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\Excel\Addins\crmexceladdin.Addin\LoadBehavior DWORD 2

This will prevent the add-ins from loading and at the same time it will prevent the Configure CRM button from showing up for non-CRM users.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: